Discussion Forums  >  Uncategorized

Replies: 6    Views: 397

Esteban Mora
Aspiring developer
Reg: Feb 14, 2012
Costa Rica
02/17/12 02:13 PM (12 years ago)

Is Android 2.2 (Google API 8) required?

Hi, First, I'm a Linux user and I don't have a Mac at home. I'm new to buzztouch. In the videos it seems like a tool that you can fall in love with immediately. I was trying to build my first application yesterday and I found some strange stuff. First, it seems that Google API 8 (2.2) is mandatory. I tried to upload the project within Eclipse using other APIs and a lot of errors occur. I have no problem with API 8 besides that all major Android devices are using API 7 (Android 2.1). I generate a demo application and tried to install it on a Kindle Fire (Android 2.1) and it was impossible. Thanks, Esteban

KevinPerry
Android Fan
Reg: Jan 10, 2012
Wisconsin, USA
02/17/12 02:32 PM (12 years ago)
I am not sure, but it may help to add {android compatibility libraries} to the project. {right click project, android tools, add android compatibility libraries}

GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
02/17/12 02:45 PM (12 years ago)
Hi @Esteban Mora, Welcome to buzztouch! I think you fill find it's a service you can fall in love with immediately...I did! Yes, you need the Google APIs specified in the Readme files for both v1.4 and v1.5. They are different depending on which version of BT you are using. Here's a document about setting up your Eclipse environment (yep, I know it's for Windows, but much applies to Linux), and it specifies the required APIs : http://www.buzztouch.com/resources/Setting_Up_Your_Android_Development_Environment_v1.3.pdf Let us know if you have any other questions! Lots of us in this forum willing to help! Mark

Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
02/17/12 05:03 PM (12 years ago)