Discussion Forums  >  Plugins, Customizing, Source Code

Replies: 4    Views: 74

skeetdogg21
Aspiring developer
Reg: May 07, 2014
Minneapolis
05/09/14 12:25 PM (10 years ago)

Can you customize the Menu Simple plug in to display records from a database? Or a different plug in with this capability?

I have developer experience but I'm new to app development. Wondering if there's a plug in where I can list values from a database or csv or xml file. I noticed the Instant Database plug in for purchase, but it didn't seem to just list the values in a simple menu. I'd also ideally like the database to reside locally on the iPhone, instead of on a web server. Any thoughts on how I can accomplish this is appreciated. Hoping to avoid straight coding in Xcode if possible.

AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
05/09/14 01:27 PM (10 years ago)
I haven't tried this myself, but I am wondering if the Screen Data URL option in the control panel might help? Also, I know there is a way to list csv data into html using JavaScript, if that is relevant?

SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
05/09/14 03:28 PM (10 years ago)
"Can you customize the Menu Simple Plugin to display records from a database?" Yes. although it only has one line of display… "I'd also ideally like the database to reside locally on the iPhone" You would want to use SQLite. …"Hoping to avoid straight coding in Xcode if possible" It's not possible. Unless you hire someone to do the coding for you. --- Welcome to Buzztouch! Hope you find your way around! If you have any questions, the forum is the place to ask, so go for it! But I would mention that if you venture away from plugin use 'as designed' you'll probably be looking at modifying the code, be it iOS or Android. To me that's half the fun. If you get stuck, yell to the world; we'll come running. Cheers! -- Smug

skeetdogg21
Aspiring developer
Reg: May 07, 2014
Minneapolis
05/09/14 03:39 PM (10 years ago)