Discussion Forums  >  Plugins, Customizing, Source Code

Replies: 14    Views: 74

challama
I hate code!
Reg: Mar 16, 2014
Appleton, WI
03/18/14 04:20 PM (10 years ago)

Curious re: Plugins, Mods etc. for a Beginner's Needs?

Hello All, I debated on making this post so as not to waste your valuable time, but I'm sorry, as a complete beginner, I'm completely lost on this app development stuff. I've searched the forums and am beginning the Buzztouch U tutorials, but before I get too far, I want to make sure that Buzztouch is right for me and my needs. I'll make it quick: I want to create an app that has lists of default contact info for people in specific geographic areas (so geo-targeting/fencing, I suppose), but that is also editable (and savable) by the end user. For example: Location A> Category 1> Person 1a>[Click to Call][Edit] Category 2> Person 2a>[Click to Call][Edit] Category 3> Person 3a>[Click to Call][Edit] Location B> Category 1> Person 1b>[Click to Call][Edit] Category 2> Person 2b>[Click to Call][Edit] Category 3> Person 3b>[Click to Call][Edit] Etc. I can see having a list of available locations to select by the end-user instead of geo-targeting/fencing. In fact, I would like the end-user to have the ability to select a location other than their current one anyway should they choose to do so; however, initially geo-targeting/fencing would be way more efficient for the end-user. As shown above, if an end-user prefers another person over the default person listed, they can edit that listing to the person/number they prefer, and that edit wouldn't be over-ridden by future updates. Finally, if an end-user wants to add their own custom categories/people/contact info, they can do so (and not be over-ridden by future updates). Now, being someone that is barely capable with WordPress, can Buzztouch get me to where I want to go? Alternatives? Are there any idiot-friendly guides to building an app that includes geo-targeting/fencing and end-user editable data?