Discussion Forums  >  Plugins, Customizing, Source Code

Replies: 15    Views: 95

mswain
Lost but trying
Reg: Jan 23, 2014
Bluffton
03/15/14 02:58 PM (10 years ago)

Open Square Register app

I want to be able to open the Square Register android app from my own app. I am having some problems figuring out how I can do that though. I thought that the Launch Native App plugin would work, but I cannot figure out how to make it open that specific app. Can anyone help me with this.

SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
03/15/14 03:53 PM (10 years ago)
Welcome to Buzztouch! You can always launch another app via 'intent'. Intent LaunchIntent = getPackageManager().getLaunchIntentForPackage("com.package.whatever"); startActivity(LaunchIntent); Cheers! -- Smug

mswain
Lost but trying
Bluffton
03/15/14 06:13 PM (10 years ago)
Thank you for your response. I am not very experienced with this sort of thing, so could you explain in a bit more detail what I would need to do to launch the app via intent?

SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Tamuning, GU
03/15/14 06:46 PM (10 years ago)
Is that Bluffton South Carolina? I have land there. Spent much of my misspent youth on the May River :) Honestly, there is no way 'at *my* skill level' to be able to adaquately teach you Android Intents. I can barely understand it myself, lol! Lars Vogel has a pretty good website that I use to learn new Android concepts… http://www.vogella.com/tutorials/AndroidIntent/article.html Hopefully that can help you out. When you get back to a Buzztouch specific problem, I'm happy to throw in whatever knowledge I have that I think could help. But I don't want to dispense advice on a subject I'm weak at… So off to vogella with you :) Cheers! -- Smug

mswain
Lost but trying
Bluffton
03/17/14 03:44 PM (10 years ago)