Discussion Forums  >  Plugins, Customizing, Source Code

Replies: 7    Views: 66

AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
07/22/15 09:27 AM (9 years ago)

Trying to upload my first plugin - sorted

OK, this is my first time and I may be doing something silly. I made a plugin and I tested it on my self hosted, uploading it by F T P. Now I am ready to publish throgh my buzztouch hosted panel. I made a zip, but the upload fails. The error is :"Error Un-Zipping Archive. This is sometimes caused by the type of software used to compress the folder before you uploaded it." I tried three different compression packages, both on PC (winrar) and mac (std compression and izip). Then, as a test, I tried to upload the unmodified zip that the plugin creator makes. Even that failed, which makes me think it isn't anything in the zip. I think that points to something external to me. At Susan Metoxens suggestion, I 'm thorowing this out to the community. Has anyone else seen this?

Dusko
Veteran developer
Reg: Oct 13, 2012
Beograd
07/22/15 09:33 AM (9 years ago)
Just FTP an unzipped folder with plugin files unto /files directory in your self hosted server. Then go to Admin, and refresh your plugins TWICE in a row. Only after the second time will the data for the plugin be written into the database. That's it. Now go to you app, refresh the screen and create a new screen. Find your new plugin by pressing the starting letter of its name.

AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Esher, UK
07/22/15 09:48 AM (9 years ago)
Yes, that works for self hosted Dusko. I didn't make one important thing clear, I should have mentioned I am trying to publish to the market, sorry about that,

SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
07/22/15 04:32 PM (9 years ago)