Discussion Forums  >  Maps, Device Location, Tracking

Replies: 5    Views: 184

HKH
Aspiring developer
Reg: May 10, 2013
West Covina
05/12/13 09:34 PM (11 years ago)

How to use Screen Data URL to show local Department of Vehicles in the Map plugin?

I'm new to buzztouch! Hello everyone. Love this platform and learning everyday. Can someone give me an example and how-to use the "Screen Data URL" to show local "Department of Vehicles" in the Map plugin? I don't know how to do the .php script to get that information in my Map plugin. Thanks for your help!

WebNevees
Code is Art
Reg: Oct 28, 2012
KL
05/13/13 10:59 AM (11 years ago)
I think you will find a video which actually does a tutorial on this by David Book. He shows you how to output a json object using php which pulls in data from your database if that is what you're after. This is for when you have changing map locations or you want to add to them all the time. If not and you only have a set (even a long list) of points you want to show on the map that are not going to be updated much, then don't go down the php route at this point. You will need to have a web host if you do. In this case you can just create a json object in a text file, then copy and paste it to wherever you want and it doesn't even need to be php then. Just point to the URL in your map's dataURL section and you're good to go.

WebNevees
Code is Art
KL
05/13/13 11:00 AM (11 years ago)
Oh, and hello and welcome! Enjoy the ride!

HKH
Aspiring developer
Reg: May 10, 2013
West Covina
05/13/13 01:04 PM (11 years ago)
Thanks for the welcome! :) What i'm trying to do is simply click on the map plugin on home screen on iOS then the map app opens up, simply display the closest DMV locations near me What's the best method of achieving this?

WebNevees
Code is Art
KL
05/13/13 10:48 PM (11 years ago)