Discussion Forums  >  Crashes, Memory Warnings

Replies: 25    Views: 143

Electronincantation
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 35
Reg: Dec 26, 2011
Accrington
350
04/24/12 11:25 AM (12 years ago)

Tablet crashing with phone dialer on version 2.00

I am having a few beta tester reports of the phone dialer causing a "force close" problem with a version 2.00 App on tablets,earlier versions don't cause this.any ideas?
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
04/24/12 11:57 AM (12 years ago)
This is Android right? This is what I had to do..this happens when a user goes "Back" to an item not supported on a device. Till there is a better fix I am just catching the Force Close screen in the BT_activity_base.java starts around line 300 public static void showAlertFromClass(String theTitle, String theMessage){ if(theTitle == "") theTitle = "No Alert Title?"; if(theMessage == "") theMessage = "No alert message?"; final AlertDialog theAlert = new AlertDialog.Builder(thisActivity).create(); theAlert.setTitle(theTitle); theAlert.setMessage(theMessage); theAlert.setIcon(R.drawable.icon); theAlert.setCancelable(false); theAlert.setButton("OK", new DialogInterface.OnClickListener() { public void onClick(DialogInterface dialog, int which) { theAlert.dismiss(); } }); try { theAlert.show(); } catch(Exception e){ // WindowManager$BadTokenException will be caught and the app would not display // the 'Force Close' message } }
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
04/24/12 12:17 PM (12 years ago)
When I first saw this thread I was thinking, well this only applies to apps written for tablets. Then I was wondering why do they have phone dialing features in a tablet app. Then I realized they are using an app with dialing features on a Tablet. Hence, unless you limit your app to only install on non-tablets this is a necessary modification to all Buzztouch Android apps. Thanks, Fred
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
04/24/12 12:44 PM (12 years ago)
Yep, it acts correctly until you go "Back" then a feature like calling not supported on tablets will force close instead of showing the Alert Message...this is why I used the try catch statement for now to avoid force close
 
Electronincantatio...
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 35
Reg: Dec 26, 2011
Accrington
350
like
04/25/12 03:59 AM (12 years ago)
Hi. Thanks for the info.I will get back to you once the testers confirm the fix or not! Regards,Geoff.
 
Electronincantatio...
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 35
Reg: Dec 26, 2011
Accrington
350
like
04/26/12 05:08 AM (12 years ago)
Fix worked thanks. I love open source! Regards,Geoff.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
04/26/12 09:40 AM (12 years ago)
Sweet!
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 03:52 AM (12 years ago)
hi, i can not install BT2 app on my tablet from china (android 4.0.3). it's ran fine on eclipse simulator then i send a email including with a file dot apk as attach file to myself. i open mail on my tablet. Yes, i found the install button. after press the install button in tablet say: X Application nit installed Please help Thank in advance
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
06/08/12 06:14 AM (12 years ago)
Send .apk will test. Fred
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
06/08/12 07:18 AM (12 years ago)
Probably a GPS problem Hi, I found modifying the code at the bottom of the AndroidManifest.xml allows install of BT apps on Kindle Fire and other tablets without GPS, <!-- THE NEXT LINE IS ONLY USED IF MAPS ARE USED --> <uses-library android:name="com.google.android.maps" android:required="false"/>
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 08:07 AM (12 years ago)
Hi, Fred i'd already send you my apk on your email thank you again. Satit P.
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 10:07 AM (12 years ago)
Hi, Fred After follow your suggestion it's work!!! Now i able to installed to my tablet. I fixed it by modify the Manifest file as the following: - Remove com.google.android.maps - Install Location --> preferExternal, - Debug --> false thank you again Satit P.
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
06/08/12 10:34 AM (12 years ago)
Ianjamespiano made maps suggestion
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
06/08/12 10:35 AM (12 years ago)
Please note it installed OK with the maps on my Acer 100 Tablet.
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 10:59 AM (12 years ago)
Hi Fred, In BT-server 2.0 , I'd tried to adding a background image abcdefg.jpg to Menu screen --> Menu simple in several time. but no not success. But i do success with custom html/text. It may Menu Simple not support background image or bug. Please advice. Thank you in advance. Satit P.
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
06/08/12 11:46 AM (12 years ago)
I add one without difficulty. Recently others have been having difficulty with same. Not sure where the problem is. Please post location of image & name. Fred
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
06/08/12 04:28 PM (12 years ago)
Ianjamespiano made maps suggestion
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 04:37 PM (12 years ago)
Hi, Fred I used url image by upload to btserver as link below: http://btserver.phayoune.org/files/applications/EA9CFF39C245E3C76C84773E8/images/pbg.jpg i notice that the same image able to show at submenu(Custom HTML/text). Thank you in advance. Satit P.
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
06/08/12 04:52 PM (12 years ago)
I used embedded image in the drawable folder. Perhaps that's the difference. Fred
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 09:08 PM (12 years ago)
How can i do that, i mean embedded image ? Because of I just type the file name pbg.jpg in image file name box , then copy to /res/drawable/ after recompiles. It does not work. Thank you in advance Satit P.
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
06/08/12 09:14 PM (12 years ago)
You must export binary (.apk) for embedded images to appear in the app. Simple test: using the control panel enter name of image already in the source code try green dot. Fred
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 10:13 PM (12 years ago)
It still does not work. the image not show up. Please advice. Satit P.
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 10:15 PM (12 years ago)
It still does not work. the image not show up. Please advice. Satit P.
 
satit
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 89
Reg: Feb 16, 2012
bangkok
6,640
like
06/08/12 10:42 PM (12 years ago)
How can i do that, i mean embedded image ? Because of I just type the file name pbg.jpg in image file name box , then copy to /res/drawable/ after recompiles. It does not work. Thank you in advance Satit P.
 
Higgey
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 392
Reg: Sep 07, 2011
West Midlands
13,520
like
07/20/12 02:52 AM (11 years ago)
Hi, Is it still necessary to include the fix for apps with dialling features crashing on apps or is this resolved now? John
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
07/20/12 05:20 AM (11 years ago)
Its still necessary, I haven't seen any announcement indicating this has been resolved. Fred
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.