Discussion Forums  >  Introduce Yourself

Replies: 11    Views: 89

ResearchDepartment
Aspiring developer
Reg: Dec 27, 2013
São Paulo
01/03/14 08:22 PM (10 years ago)

Starting out

I have just started learning about mobile app development. I'm pretty comfortable with C and C++, and I've done programming in a bunch of different languages over a longer time than I feel comfortable specifying. In general, as a programmer, I'm pretty good at coming up with an algorithm to solve a problem, but not very good at making code more efficient. I'm a graduate student in Brazil, living on a Brazilian grad student stipend in a city whose cost of living was not properly taken into account when the amount of the stipend was set, so money's tight. I'm not a Buzztouch member yet because I'm holding off to avoid starting the clock on my one-year membership until I'm 100% ready (it'll be in the next several days, possibly over the weekend, which is the next two days). I'm thrilled to see that Buzztouch has many free and free-for-members plugins available, and those can save me a lot of work and help get my apps developed faster without costing me more money. I'm starting with Android development, but I intend to get into iOS development too. Right now, I've got ideas for three apps, and I'm pretty sure I can make them in the Buzztouch Control Panel without even needing any paid plugins. I've also got an idea for two plugins, one of which would be very nice to have for one of my apps (but not NECESSARY, so it could go into a later version), and am looking for other ideas for plugins. There are all kinds of reasons I think the Buzztouch membership will be worthwhile for me. I don't know Java or Objective-C, but I've got experience learning programming languages starting with a reference book and somebody else's program. Being able to build simple apps in Buzztouch and then download the source code will be very useful to me as I learn Java for Android and then Objective-C for iOS. Additi